After many months of cottage prayer meetings in the Oakland area Mr. & Mrs. Lewis McClellan, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Williams, and a few others felt the leading of the Lord for a Nazarene church in this area. Early in the Spring of 1934, an empty storefront was rented, a revival was held, and the Oakland Church of the Nazarene was organized on April 1st, with 27 charter members (14 adults & 13 children). In 1935 a tabernacle was built at 934 Michigan. After two destructive fires, and the 1951 flood, in 1968 the Lord blessed the church with funds to purchase additional lots at 939 NE Oakland. Kansas City Contractor Bob Armstrong took a group of men and women who knew little about carpentry work, but were willing to give of themselves and their time, and they built a church for God. Many used their entire vacations that summer to work on the church, many came every night after work, and all worked every holiday & Saturday.
In the 1990s the handicap ramp on the North end of the building was removed. It was replaced with an extended entranceway and elevator. The sanctuary platform was redone and the choir pews removed. Major rework was started in 2008 and transformed the Fellowship Hall and Children’s and Teen Sunday school classrooms. Our church has a rich history of leadership under 19 Pastors. Each one bringing forward the message from the Holy Spirit in guiding the church for future generations.